Agro-Climatic Regions of India

India has diverse agro-climatic conditions.

It has almost all types of climatic conditions, capable of producing almost all kinds of agricultural produce in one or the other region.

Several attempts have been made to classify India into various agricultural regions based on climatic and natural vegetation.

In 1989, the Planning Commission divided India into following 15 Agro-climatic regions.

[1] The North-Western Himalaya

[2] The North-East Himalaya

[3] The Lower Ganga Plain

[4] The Middle Ganga Plain

[5] The Upper Ganga Plain

[6] The Trans Ganga plain (Punjab plains)

[7] The Eastern Plateau and hills

[8] The Central Plateau and hills

[9] The Western Plateau and hills

[10] The Southern Plateau and hills

[11] The East Coast Plains and hills

[12] The West Coast Plains and Ghats

[13] The Gujarat Plains and hills

[14] The Western Dry Region

[15] The Islands