Civil Disobedience Movement – 1930

Under the leadership of M. K. Gandhi, the Civil Disobedience Movement was launched in 1930.

Gandhiji wrote a letter to Lord Irwin, the Viceroy of India.

Gandhiji also communicated the decision to launch the ‘Satyagraha’ campaign by manufacturing salt at Dandi, a village on the sea coast of Gujarat, in case his eleven point demands were turned down by the Government.

Some of these demands were

–abolition of salt tax

–reduction of the land revenue

–reduction of military expenditure and expenditure on civil administration

–imposition of custom duty on foreign cloth

–release of all political prisoners

–prohibition of intoxicants

–abolish the CID department

Programme of Civil Disobedience Movement—–

Boycott of courts of law, legislatures, elections, Government functionaries, Schools and Colleges.

The people would not pay any tax to the Government.

They would not accept any act which they considered as going against their conscience.