Climates Type


The concept of thermal zone is theoretical and explains the distribution of solar energy over the earth’s surface.

There are several other factors besides the angle of the sun’s rays which influence the climate of a place.

Keeping in view other factors responsible for the distribution and combined influence of temperature and rainfall, modem scientists have arrived to several classifications of climate and its types.

The most widely used system of climatic classification in its various modified forms is that of Wladimir koeppen (1846-1940).

It is based upon temperature, precipitation and their seasonal characteristics.

The relationship of climate with the vegetation is also included with it.

According to this scheme, the world has been divided into five climatic groups and they are further sub-divided into 13 climatic types.

They are as follows:

[A] Tropical climates (hot all seasons) —

[1] Tropical rain forest

[2] Savanna Climate

[3] Monsoon Climate


[B] Dry climates —

[4] Desert Climate

[5] Steppe Climate


[C] Warm temperate rainy or Middle latitude rainy climates (mild winters) —

[6] Mediterranean Climate

[7] China Type Climate

[8] West European Climate


[D] Humid Middle latitude climates (severe winters) —

[9] Taiga Climate

[10] Cool East-coast Climate

[11] The Continental Climate


[D] Polar climates —

[12] Tundra Climate

[13] Ice-cap Climate