Committee on Absence of Members from the Sittings of the House (Lok Sabha)

The Committee consists of 15 members who hold office for one year.

The members are nominated by the Speaker.

This Committee considers all applications from members for leave of absence from the sittings of the House and examines every case where a member has been absent for a period of 60 days or more, without permission, from the sittings of the House.

In its report it makes recommendations with respect to each case as to whether the absence should be condoned or leave applied granted or whether the circumstances of the case justify that the House should declare the seat of the member vacant.