Deccan Plateau

Deccan Plateau is the largest region of the Great Indian Plateau.

The shape of the Deccan Plateau is triangular.

One of the sides of this triangle is marked by the line joining Kanyakumari with Rajmahal Hills and this line passes through the Eastern Ghats.

The second arm is marked by the Satpura Range, Mahadeo Hills, Maikal Range, and the Rajmahal Hills.

The third arm is marked by the Sahyadris (Western Ghats).

The area of this Peninsular Plateau is about 7 lakh square km and the height ranges from 500 to 1000 meters above sea level.

The Sahyadri Range forms the sharp edge of the Peninsular Plateau.

The Sahyadri Range runs parallel to the Arabian Sea coast.

The Sahyadri Range is also called the Western Ghats.

The height of the Sahyadris increases from north to south.

Anaimudi peak (2695 m) situated in Kerala is the highest peak of southern India.

Anaimudi is a sort of tri-junction of the Annamalai Range, the Cardamom Hills, and the Palani Hills.

Kodai Kanal is a beautiful hill resort situated on the Palani Hills.

The Eastern Ghats running from southwest to northeast forms the eastern edge of the Peninsular Plateau. This range is known as Poorvadri also.

The Eastern Ghats joins the Sahyadris at the Nilgiri Hills bordering Karnataka and Tamil Nadu.

Udagamandalam (Ooty) situated on the Nilgiris is the famous hill station of South India and lies in Tamil Nadu.

The Eastern Ghats are not continuous like the Sahyadris.

Mahanadi, Godavari, Krishna, Pennar, and Kaveri rivers have dissected this range at many places.

The plateau region between the Sahyadris and the Eastern Ghats is known by numerous local names in different regions.

Telangana which extends in Andhra Pradesh is the name of such a plateau.


River Damodar flows through the Chhotanagpur Plateau.

The Damodar valley is famous for its huge coal deposits.

Also Read:

Geography solved MCQs