Departmental Standing Committees

Departmental Standing Committees

On the recommendation of the Rules Committee of the Lok Sabha, 17 Departmentally-Related Standing Committees (DRSCs) were set up in the Parliament in 1993.

In 2004, seven more such committees were setup, thus increasing their number from 17 to 24.

The main objective of the standing committees is to secure more accountability of the Executive (i.e., the Council of Ministers) to the Parliament, particularly financial accountability.

They also assist the Parliament in debating the budget more effectively.

Each standing committee consists of 31 members (21 from Lok Sabha and 10 from Rajya Sabha).

The members of the Lok Sabha are nominated by the Speaker from amongst its own members, just as the members of the Rajya Sabha are nominated by the Chairman from amongst its members.

A minister is not eligible to be nominated as a member of any of the standing committees.

In case a member, after his nomination to any of the standing committees, is appointed a minister, he then ceases to be a member of the committee.

The term of office of each standing committee is one year from the date of its constitution.

Out of the 24 standing committees, 8 work under the Rajya Sabha and 16 under the Lok Sabha.

Committees under Rajya Sabha—

Name of the Committees and Ministries / Departments Covered

[1] Committee on Commerce— Commerce and Industry

[2] Committee on Home Affairs— (1) Home Affairs (2) Development of North-Eastern Region

[3] Committee on Human Resource Development— (1) Human Resource Development (2) Youth Affairs and Sports

[4] Committee on Industry— (1) Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises (2) Small Scale Industries (3) Agro and Rural Industries

[5] Committee on Science & Technology, Environment & Forests— (1) Science and Technology (2) Space (3) Earth Sciences (4) Atomic Energy (5) Environment & Forests

[6] Committee on Transport, Tourism and Culture— (1) Civil Aviation (2) Shipping, Road Transport and Highways (3) Culture (4) Tourism

[7] Committee on Health and Family Welfare— Health and Family Welfare

[8] Committee on Personnel, Public Grievances, Law and Justice— (1) Law and Justice (2) Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions

Committees under Lok Sabha—

Name of the Committees and Ministries / Departments Covered

[1] Committee on Agriculture– (1) Agriculture (2) Food Processing Industries

[2] Committee on Information Technology— (1) Communications and Information Technology (2) Information & Broadcasting

[3] Committee on Defence— Defence

[4] Committee on Energy— (1) New and Renewable Energy (2) Power

[5] Committee on External Affairs— (1) External Affairs (2) Non Resident Indians Affairs

[6] Committee on Finance— (1) Finance (2) Company Affairs (3) Planning (4) Statistics and Programme Implementation

[7] Committee on Food, Consumer Affairs and Public Distribution— Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution

[8] Committee on Labour— (1) Labour and Employment (2) Textiles

[9] Committee on Petroleum & Natural Gas— Petroleum and Natural Gas

[10] Committee on Railways— Railways

[11] Committee on Urban Development— (1) Urban Development (2) Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation

[12] Committee on Water Resources— Water Resources

[13] Committee on Chemicals and Fertilizers— Chemicals and Fertilizers

[14] Committee on Rural Development— (1) Rural Development (2) Panchayati Raj

[15] Committee on Coal and Steel— (1) Coal and Mines (2) Steel

[16] Committee on Social Justice and Empowerment— (1) Social Justice and Empowerment (2) Tribal Affairs


The functions of each of the standing committees are:

[1] To consider the demands for grants of the concerned ministries / departments before they are discussed and voted in the Lok Sabha. Its report should not suggest anything of the nature of cut motions.

[2] To examine bills pertaining to the concerned ministries / departments.

[3] To consider annual reports of ministries / departments.

[4] To consider national basic long-term policy documents presented to the Houses.