Indian Press Act 1910

Indian Press Act 1910 was legislation promulgated in British India imposing strict censorship on all kinds of publications.

The main instruments of control imposed by the Press Act were financial securities that were vulnerable to confiscation in the event of any breach of the exceptionally wide provisions of the legislation.

Proprietors being obliged to deposit 500 to 5000 Rupees as the Magistrate saw fit.

Customs and postal officers were given authority to detain and examine the suspected matter.

Local governments were authorized to declare forfeit any newspaper, book, or document, or empower the police to search and seize the same.

The bill defined press offenses as attempts to incite murder or anarchical outrages, to tamper with the loyalty of the Army or the Navy, to excite racial, class and religious animosity and hatred and contempt of the Government or a native prince, to incite criminal intimidation and interference with law and order, and to intimidate public servants with threats of injury.

Bal Gangadhar Tilak was tried on charges of sedition and transported to Mandalay (Burma) for six years.

Later, the Indian Press Act 1910 was repealed by Lord Reading (1921-1926).


Complete list of Governor Generals of India 1772 to 1950

Click the following links to read more:

Indian History Questions Solved