On 19 September 1945, the Viceroy Lord Wavell announced that elections to the central and provincial legislatures would be held in December 1945 to January 1946.

It was also announced that an executive council would be formed and a constitution-making body would be convened after these elections.

In the election the Congress secured 91.3% votes in the General Constituencies (in the Central Assembly) and the Muslim League won every Muslim Seat.

In the Provincial Legislature, the Congress won absolute majority in Bombay, Madras, United Provinces, Bihar, Orissa and Central Provinces.

Muslim League could secure majority only in Bengal and Sind.