Integrated scheme of oil seeds, pulses, maize and oil palm (ISOPOM)

The Technology Mission on Oilseeds (TMO) was launched in May, 1986 with a view to increase the production and productivity of oilseeds to make the country self-reliant in this vital sector. Subsequently pulses, oil palm & maize were also brought into the ambit of the Technology Mission in 1990, 1992-93 & 1995-96, respectively.

The Department of Agriculture & Cooperation implemented the following Centrally Sponsored Schemes under TMOP&M for increasing production of oilseeds, pulses, maize and oil palm in the country

[a] Oilseeds Production Programme (OPP)

[b] National Pulses Development Project (NPDP)

[c] Accelerated Maize Development Programme (AMDP)

[d] Oil Plam Development Programme (OPDP)

To provide flexibility to the States in implementation of these programmes based on regionally differentiated approach, to promote crop diversification to provide focused approach to the programmes and in view of the suggestions of the Planning Commission the above four schemes have been modified and merged into one Centrally Sponsored Integrated Scheme of Oilseeds, Pulses, Oil Palm and Maize (ISOPOM) during the 10th Five Year Plan.


Features of ISOPOM—

The ISOPOM has the following special features:

[1] Flexibility to the states to utilize the funds for the scheme/crop of their choice.

[2] Annual action plan to be formulated by the State Governments for consideration and approval of the Government of India.

[3] Flexibility to the states for introducing innovative measures or any special component to the extent of 10% of financial allocation.

[4] Involvement of private sector by the State Governments in the implementation of the programme with a financial cap of 15%.

[5] Diversion of funds from seed components to non-seed components with the prior Approval of the Department of Agriculture & Cooperation.

Oilseeds and Pulses—

The ISOPOM is to be implemented in 14 potential states Viz., Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Haryana, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal for oilseeds and pulses.


Under ISOPOM, maize development programmes are under implementation in 15 states, i.e., Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan, J&K, Tamil Nadu, U.P., and West Bengal.

Oil Palm—

The Oil Palm Development Programme will be implemented in 12 states viz. Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Orissa, Tamil Nadu, Goa, Kerala, Assam, Tripura, West Bengal and Mizoram.

SC/ST sub-plan under ISOPOM—

As envisaged under the ongoing schemes, small and marginal farmers and SC/ST and Women farmers, involved in cultivation of oilseeds, pulses, maize and oil palm, will be given priority in providing benefits and support under ISOPOM too.

It also stipulates that 22.5% of the outlays for input supply and support services provided by the states to farmers as also under Frontline demonstrations are ear-marked to benefit SC and ST farmers.


Implementing agencies—

The ISOPOM will continue to be implemented by the state Governments through their Departments of Agriculture/Horticulture.

Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) is the nodal agency for production of breeder’s seed and conduct of front-line demonstrations.

The private sector like NGOs, farmer’s organizations, cooperative bodies, and public sector agencies will also be involved through State Governments in the implementation of some of the components of the programme.