Krishna River

The Krishna Basin extends over Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra and Karnataka having a total area of 2,58,948 which is nearly 8% of the total geographical area of the country.

The Basin is bounded by Balaghat range on the north, by the Eastern Ghats on the south and the east and by the Western Ghats on the west.

The Krishna River rises from the Western Ghats north of Mahabaleshwar of Satara district of Maharashtra.

The Krishna is the second largest east-flowing Peninsular River.

The total length of the river from origin to its outfall into the Bay of Bengal is 1,400 km.

Right-bank tributaries:

Ghatprabha, Malprabha, Tungabhadra, Venna, Urmodi,  Tarali/Kali,  Mand, Koyna, Warna, Pnnchganga, Dudhganga

Left-bank tributaries: Bhima, Musi, Munneru, Paleru , Haliya, Dindi, Doni

The largest tributary of the Krishna River is the Tungabhadra and the longest tributary is the Bhima River.

Of the total catchment area of the Krishna, 27 percent lies in Maharashtra, 44 percent in Karnataka and 29 percent in Andhra Pradesh.

The major Hydro Power stations in the basin are:

Koyna (Maharashtra)

Tungabhadara (Karnataka),

Sri Sailam (Telangana and Andhra Pradesh)

Nagarjuna Sagar (Telangana and Andhra Pradesh)

Almatti (Karnataka)

Naryanpur (Karnataka)

Bhadra (Karnataka)

The major Urban Centers in the Basin are Pune, Hyderabad.

The delta area of the basin is subject to flooding. It has been observed that the river bed in the delta area is continuously raised due to silt deposition resulting in a reduction in carrying capacity of the channel. The coastal cyclonic rainfall of high intensity and short duration makes the flood problem worse.