The Lahore session of the Indian National Congress was held in 1929 under the Presidentship of Jawaharlal Nehru.

The Purna Swaraj declaration, or Declaration of the Independence of India, was promulgated by the Indian National Congress on 26 January 1930.

The flag of India had been hoisted by Congress President Jawaharlal Nehru on 31 December 1929, in Lahore.

The Congress asked the people of India to observe 26 January as Independence Day.

Before 1930, few Indian political parties had openly embraced the goal of political independence from the United Kingdom.

The All India Home Rule League had been advocating Home Rule for India: dominion status within the British Empire, as granted to Australia, Canada, the Irish Free State, Newfoundland, New Zealand, and South Africa.

The All India Muslim League favoured dominion status as well, and opposed calls for outright Indian independence.

The Indian Liberal Party explicitly opposed India’s independence and even dominion status if it weakened India’s links with the British Empire.

The Indian National Congress, the largest Indian political party of the time, was at the head of the national debate.

Congress leader and famous poet Hasrat Mohani was the first activist to demand complete independence (Poorna Swaraj) from the British in 1921 from an All-India Congress Forum.

The Nehru Report demanded self-government under the dominion status within the Empire.

While most other Indian political parties supported the Nehru commission’s work, it was opposed by the Indian Liberal Party and the All India Muslim League.

The British ignored the commission, its report and refused to introduce political reform.

It was in this session that the Congress for the first time raised the demand for complete independence.

Congress decided not to participate in the Round Table Conference.

The Nehru Report was declared to be null and void in the Lahore Congress.

Lahore Congress also decided to launch a Civil Disobedience Movement with complete independence as its goal.