The provinces or subas were divided into Sarkars.

The Sarkars were divided into Parganas.

The village was the smallest unit of administration.

At the level of Sarkar, there were two important functionaries, the faujdar and the Amalguzar.

The Faujdar was appointed by the imperial order.

Faujdari was an administrative division whereas Sarkar was a territorial and revenue division.

The primary duty of the faujdar was to safeguard the life and property of the residents of the areas under his Jurisdiction.

He was to take care of law and order problem in his areas and assist in the timely collection of revenue whenever force was required.


The amalguzar or amil was the revenue collector.

He used to maintain all accounts and send the daily receipt and expenditure report to the provincial Diwan.

At the level of Pragana, the Shiqdar was the executive officer.

He assisted the amils in the task of revenue collection.

The amils looked after the revenue collection at the Pargana level.

The quanungo kept all the records of land in the pargana.


The Kotwals were appointed mainly in towns by the imperial government and were incharge of law and order.

He was to maintain a register for keeping records of people coming and going out of the towns.


The Muqaddam was the village head man and the Patwari looked after the village revenue records.

The Zamindars were to maintain law and order in their areas as well as in the collection of revenue.


The forts were placed under an officer called Qiladar.

He was in charge of the general administration of the fort and the areas assigned in Jagir to him.

The port administration was independent of the provincial authority.


The governor of the port was called Mutasaddi who was directly appointed by the Emperor.

The Mutasaddi collected taxes on merchandise and maintained a customhouse.

He also supervised the mint house at the port.


Indian History Questions Solved