Motions in the Parliament of India

No discussion on a matter of general public importance can take place except on a motion made with the consent of the presiding officer.

[1] Substantive Motion–

It is a self-contained independent proposal dealing with a very important matter like impeachment of the President or removal of Chief Election Commissioner.

[2] Substitute Motion–

It is a motion that is moved in substitution of an original motion and proposes an alternative to it.

If adopted by the House, it supersedes the original motion.

[3] Subsidiary Motion–

It is a motion that, by itself, has no meaning and cannot state the decision of the House without reference to the original motion or proceedings of the House.

[4] Closure Motion —

It is a motion moved by a member to cut short the debate on a matter before the House.

If the motion is approved by the House, debate is stopped forthwith and the matter is put to vote.

[5] Privilege Motion–

It is concerned with the breach of parliamentary privileges by a minister.

It is moved by a member when he feels that a minister has committed a breach of privilege of the House or one or more of its members by withholding facts of a case or by giving wrong or distorted facts.

[6] Calling Attention Motion—

It is introduced in the Parliament by a member to call the attention of a minister to a matter of urgent public importance, and to seek an authoritative statement from him on that matter.

[7] Adjournment Motion—

It is introduced in the Parliament to draw attention of the House to a definite matter of urgent public importance, and needs the support of 50 members to be admitted.

It interrupts the normal business of the House.

It involves an element of censure against the government and hence Rajya Sabha is not permitted to make use of this device.

The discussion on an adjournment motion should last for not less than two hours and thirty minutes.

[8] No-confidence motion—

It is a motion moved by a member of legislature expressing no-confidence of the House in the Council of Ministers.

If adopted by the legislature, the Council of Ministers has to resign.

[9] Motion of Thanks—

The first session after each general election and the first session of every fiscal year is addressed by the president.

In this address, the president outlines the policies and programmes of the government in the preceding year and ensuing year.

At the end of the discussion, the motion is put to vote.

This motion must be passed in the House.

Otherwise, it amounts to the defeat of the government.