Composition of the Parliament

Under the Constitution, the Parliament of India consists of three parts viz, the President, the Council of States and the House of the People.

In 1954, the Hindi names ‘Rajya Sabha’ and ‘Lok Sabha’ were adopted by the Council of States and the House of People respectively.

The Parliament has two Houses–Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha.

Rajya Sabha is upper House and represents the States of India.

Lok Sabha is lower House. It is also called popular House because it represents the people of India.

The President is an integral part of the Parliament though he is not a member of the either House. This is because a bill passed by both the Houses of Parliament cannot become law without the President’s assent.


Rajya Sabha

Lok Sabha