Ad hoc and Standing Committees–

Parliamentary Committees are of two kinds: Ad hoc Committees and the Standing Committees.

Ad hoc Committees are appointed for a specific purpose and they cease to exist when they finish the task assigned to them and submit a report.

The principal Ad hoc Committees are the Select and Joint Committees on Bills.

Others like the Railway Convention Committee, the Committees on the Draft Five Year Plans and the Hindi Equivalents Committee were appointed for specific purposes.

Apart from the Ad hoc Committees, each House of Parliament has Standing Committees like the Business Advisory Committee, the Committee on Petitions, the Committee of Privileges and the Rules Committee, etc.