The First Burmese War 1824-26 and the Treaty of Yandabo

The First Anglo-Burmese War, also known as the First Burma War, (5 March 1824 – 24 February 1826) was the first of three wars fought between the British and Burmese empires in the 19th century.

The Burmese had already seized Tenasserim from Siam in 1766, subjugated the kingdom of Arakan in 1784, and also conquered Manipur, near the Surma valley, in 1813.

This advance of the Burmese towards the eastern frontier of the Company’s dominion made an Anglo-Burmese conflict inevitable.

in 1821-1822, the Burmese conquered Assam and in September 1823 the Shahpuri island near Chittagong which was belonging to the Company.

The Burmese were then making preparations for an attack on the territories in Bengal.

On February 24, 1824 Lord Amherst declared war on Burma.

The war  ended in a decisive British victory.

The war gave the British total control of Assam, Manipur, Cachar and Jaintia as well as Arakan Province and Tenasserim.

The Burmese were also forced to pay an indemnity of one million pounds sterling, and sign a commercial treaty.

The British would wage two more wars against Burma, and swallow up the entire country by 1885.


The Treaty of Yandabo—–

The Treaty of Yandabo was signed by General Campbell from the British side and Governor of Legaing Maha Min Hla Kyaw Htin from the Burmese side on 24 February 1826.

The Burmese paid 250,000 pounds sterling in gold and silver bullion as the first installment of the indemnity, and also released British prisoners of war.

The Burmese agreed to—–

Cede to the British Assam, Manipur, Rakhine (Arakan), and Taninthayi (Tenasserim) coast south of the Salween River.

Cease all interference in Cachar and Jaintia.

Pay an indemnity of one million pounds sterling in four installments.

Allow for an exchange of diplomatic representatives between Ava and Calcutta.