The Third Anglo Maratha War (1818–1819) was the final conflict between the British East India Company (EIC) and the Maratha Empire in India.

The war left the Company in control of most of India.

It began with an invasion of the Maratha territory by British East India Company troops, the largest such British controlled force massed in India.

The troops were led by the Governor-General Hastings (no relation to Warren Hastings, the first Governor-General of Bengal) supported by a force under General Thomas Hislop.

Operations began against the Pindaris.

Peshwa Baji Rao II’s forces, supported by those of Mudhoji II Bhonsle of Nagpur and Malharrao Holkar III of Indore, rose against the East India Company.

Daulatrao Shinde of Gwalior remained neutral.

The Peshwa was defeated in the battles of Khadki and Koregaon.

The Peshwa was captured and placed on a small estate at Bithur, near Kanpur.

Most of his territory was annexed and became part of the Bombay Presidency.

The Maharaja of Satara was restored as the ruler of his territory as a princely state. In 1848 this territory was also annexed by the Bombay Presidency under the doctrine of lapse policy of Lord Dalhousie.

Bhonsle was defeated in the battle of Sitabuldi and Holkar in the battle of Mahidpur.

The northern portion of Bhonsle’s dominions in and around Nagpur, together with the Peshwa’s territories in Bundelkhand, was annexed by British India as the Saugor and Nerbudda Territories.

The defeat of the Bhonsle and Holkar also resulted in the acquisition of the Maratha kingdoms of Nagpur and Indore by the British.

Along with Gwalior from Shinde and Jhansi from the Peshwa, all of these territories became princely states acknowledging British control.


Click the following links to Read more:

Indian History Questions Solved