Third Carnatic War 1756-63 and Treaty of Paris

Third Carnatic War

The outbreak in 1756 of the Seven Years’ War in Europe resulted in renewed conflict between French and British forces in India.

The Third Carnatic War spread beyond southern India and into Bengal where British forces captured the French settlement of Chandranagar (now Chandannagar) in 1757.

However, the war was decided in the south, where the British successfully defended Madras, and Sir Eyre Coote defeated the French, commanded by Count de Lally at the Battle of Wandiwash in 1760.

After Wandiwash, the French capital of Pondicherry fell to the British in 1761.

The Third Carnatic War put an end to the French ambitions to create a colonial empire in India.

The earlier two Carnatic wars were limited to Deccan but the third war spread in Bengal also.


Treaty of Paris

When the Seven Years War ended with the war concluded with the signing of the 1763 Treaty of Paris or Peace of Paris or the Treaty of 1763.

As per parts of this treaty, the Chandranagar and Pondicherry were returned to France.

The French were now allowed to have trading posts in India but forbade French traders from administering them.

The Government of France also agreed to support British client governments.


Click the following links to read more:

Indian History Questions Solved